Community Schools

The Boise School District’s Community Schools Program

 Photo of families at community schools  community schools p;hoto  Photos of families at community schools  Photos of families at community schools


Mission: Engaged Communities, Increased Opportunities, Successful Students and Families

Vision: Community schools foster partnerships by focusing shared resources that enhance pathways to learning in a welcoming culture of high expectations.

A community school is both a place and a set of partnerships between the school and other community resources. Its integrated focus on academics, health and social services, youth and community development and family engagement leads to improved student learning, stronger families and healthier communities. 

Services provided by Community Schools may include parenting information and support, help getting food and clothing, early childhood resources and volunteer opportunities for community members. Additional resources such as resume and job-seeking skills, computer access and agency referrals may be available.

The six district schools, Frank Church, Garfield, Morley Nelson, Taft, Whitney and Whittier have been designated as Community Schools. Each will have dedicated space in the school and a staff assigned to plan, organize and implement the Community School model in a way that best serves each school’s neighborhood.

Community Schools Brochure