BSD Educator Receives National Recognition

BSD Educator Receives National Recognition
Posted on 07/05/2022
This is the image for the news article titled BSD Educator Receives National Recognition

Following information provided by Idaho Public Television News

Katie Mason, an Integration Specialist with the Boise School District, has been selected as a Public Broadcasting System (PBS) Digital Innovator All-Star for the 2022-2023 school year. Mason was named an Idaho Public Television Digital Innovator for the 2021-2022 school year, which put her into consideration for the national All-Star honor.

“Katie is an amazing and dynamic educator who I have had the privilege of working with over the last two years as a local Digital Innovator,” said Kari Wardle, Idaho Public Television’s Education Manager. “She is always willing to help and she inspires everyone she meets! Katie is hard-working and dedicated and we are so proud to have her join with educators across the country to enrich the lives of teachers nationwide.”

Katis MasonThe PBS Digital Innovator All-Star program brings together a community of PreK-12th grade educators who are innovators and leaders both in and outside of the classroom. Specifically, Digital Innovator All-Stars are selected from a cohort of educators who are doing extraordinary work supporting student learning by integrating media and digital technology in their teaching environments and inspiring students to use these tools in responsible, effective and empowering ways.

“We are thrilled to recognize these 20 teachers for their extraordinary work and dedication to their local communities,” said Lori Brittain, Vice President of PBS LearningMedia. “Each of the new PBS Digital Innovator All-Stars have worked tirelessly to enrich the lives of their students, all while navigating another challenging school year. It is an honor to elevate their powerful stories and thank them for the passion, creativity and grace they bring to their classrooms every day.”

PBS Digital Innovator All-Stars will spend the 2022-23 school year deepening engagement among students, families, educators, schools and their local PBS stations.

Below is a list of the 2022 PBS Digital Innovator All-Stars and their local PBS stations:

  • Katie Mason, Idaho (Idaho Public Television)
  • Andria Rogers, Montana (Montana PBS)
  • Katherine (Kat) Baxter, Alabama (Alabama Public Television)
  • Rodney Porterfield, Alabama (Alabama Public Television)
  • Julie Ornelas, New Mexico (New Mexico PBS / KNME)
    Emmanuel Smith, Michigan (Detroit Public Television)
  • Cara Pekarcik, Massachusetts (GBH)
  • Chris Tyson-Renshaw, Kentucky (KET)
  • David Upegui, Rhode Island (Rhode Island PBS)
  • Jennifer Sarmento, North Carolina (PBS North Carolina)
  • Christian Wrabley, Pennsylvania (WQED)
  • Jennifer Rayson, Missouri (Nine PBS)
  • Darnell Williams, New Jersey (The WNET Group)
  • Bob Kelly, California (Valley PBS)
  • Ken Kusactay, California (KQED)
  • Jim Bently, California (KVIE)
  • Fred Edwards, North Dakota (Prairie Public)
  • J’Neil Gibson, North Dakota (Prairie Public)
  • Lekena Ackerman, South Carolina (SCETV)Michelle Carton, Alaska (Alaska Public Media)